Adding slides resets navigation lock

Hi all, 

We have software demos that have navigation locked on the first attempt and are supposed to be freely navigable after the learner completes the demo. We did this to ensure that all learners are taking the entire demo the first time. Upon subsequent visits, the demo should always resume where it left off, and the navigation should be unrestricted.

The problem is that if we add slides or a scene to a demo, the SCORM appears to communicate to the LMS to start the course over from the beginning and lock navigation again.

Is there a way to prevent this from happening? When we update a demo with new content, we want learners to be able to just freely navigate to the new slides, not have to watch the entire demo all over again.

I doubt this is an LMS thing. There's something in the SCORM that is deciding that navigation needs to be restricted again.  

Relevant player settings are listed below.

Thank you in advance for any advice. Stay safe and healthy in this crazy time, everyone.

Lisa

Settings:

Seekbar = Read-only

Menu = Restricted

Restrict Next/Previous buttons = checked

On restart = Always resume

3 Replies
Lisa Spirko

Hi all, I found this article: https://community.articulate.com/articles/the-secret-to-lms-debugging

In the configuration.js file, I set debug mode to true (var SHOW_DEBUG_ON_LAUNCH = true) and verified that review mode is set to read only (var REVIEW_MODE_IS_READ_ONLY = true), and then republished the demo to our sandbox.

When launching the demo, I'm seeing some errors, including one related to suspend data (maybe because the demo was set to complete?), and some indication that the SCORM might be telling the LMS to set the demo to incomplete. Thoughts from anyone who understands the debug logs? I'm attaching the excerpt with items of interest highlighted.

Many thanks again for advice,

Lisa

 

Ren Gomez

Hi Lisa,

Thanks for reaching out! What you're seeing is expected behavior in regards to publishing to an LMS or web server.

When you update (overwrite) existing course files in your LMS or web server, learners who previously started the course won't be able to resume where they left off. They'll start over at the first slide in the updated course.

For this demo, you may need to consider free navigation so that the learners can go straight to the new information when you update the course.

Lisa Spirko

Unfortunately, we can't do that because we found that learners were either exiting the course before they viewed all of the slides and weren't being marked complete, or they were completing the course as expected, but something wasn't being reported properly and they were still not being marked completed. 

Thanks anyway, Ren...

Lisa