3 Replies
Walt Hamilton

In general, you will create a version of your course, and make it available to your target learners. They will have no option to choose. They will open it and run it in a web browser, no matter what version you publish to. It doesn't matter what version you have to create with.

The end learner only sees the published version, and if it functions when it is published, it will basically function forever. Or at least, until the browser companies change the way that browsers work.

The only people who have problems with different SL versions are those like your staff, who are creating content. Sometimes it is difficult to open content  created with other versions of SL.

Judy Nollet

Hi, Meghan,

That's something controlled by whomever is in charge of the LMS or website where the published course is hosted. 

  • In an LMS, the administrator can usually indicate that an update is replacing a current course. Removing access to previous versions may or may not be a separate step. (That depends on the LMS.)
  • On a web server, the administrator would simply have to replace the existing course files with the new ones. As long as they're put in the same location, the launch URL (e.g., something.com/course1/story.html) would stay the same. Thus, any user with a link would always access the most recent version. 
Kristin Hatcher

Are you referring to publishing to your LMS or to Review360? The review site does allow users to choose a version. It is not meant for all end-users, though, just for your stakeholders to review a course before it's done. If some of your stakeholders are looking at old/other versions, you can publish a new version at a different link, and they won't be able to access the older versions from a drop-down. You can password protect the versions at the old links so no one can access the old versions of course from the old link. 

See attached screenshot for what I mean about other versions. Hopefully this helps!